Acrylics

Hey there! I know I haven’t posted much lately, so I thought I’d share some of my acrylics with you! Usually I prefer digital art or sketching, but every so often I enjoy trying out a different medium. I painted a bird a couple of years ago, but the hot air balloons and the Latte paintings are more recent. It was a little difficult to mix the colors, but the great thing about painting in general is that it is very forgiving. As Bob Ross says, there are no mistakes in artโ€”just happy little accidents!

DSC_4139

The hardest part about this one was painting the clouds. I did enjoy painting the water and the hot air balloons, though.

DSC_4141

For this one, I spent quite a long time trying to perfect the folds in the fabric. Of course, my favorite part was painting the Latte plush!

DSC_4142

This painting is based on a photo of a black-crowned night heron I observed in Hawaii.

What is your favorite medium of art? Do you enjoy painting with acrylics? Have an amazing day!

10 thoughts on “Acrylics

  1. These are great! Your work is colourful and fun ๐Ÿ™‚ I think you did a great job on the clouds, that was the first thing i noticed after the bright colours ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’ve been painting with acrylics but I am more used to watercolour. I like that you don’t have to frame acrylics, whereas watercolours need to be matted and under glass. But I am much better at watercolour that acrylics so it’s a bit of a struggle mixing and layering for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh! I especially liked the balloon painting. It’s lovely to see all that water, those very nice clouds, and the colorful balloons! When you ask about a favorite medium, I’m getting very fond of colored pencils. At the suggestion of a friend/illustrator, I am experimenting with coloring in my little pen sketches. I’ve even attempted patterns on clothing1 I’ll post something soon. ๐Ÿ™‚ Colored pencils are limited, but I like being able to just choose a color and voila! there you are! I’ve even tried layering colors. I really enjoyed this post, yellowfuzzyduck! I always like to see more of your work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thank you so much. I love colored pencils as well. And I’d love to see your pen sketches! Patterns on clothing sounds super fun. You are an amazing artist, Theresa! I always love hearing from you! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, yellowfuzzyduck, you just made my week! – asking about seeing my colored-in sketches. I was thinking of doing a blog post in the next couple of days that includes my two recent colored-in sketches. Thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

