Painting Penguins

It’s practically impossible to look at a penguin and feel angry.

Joe Moore

Don’t you just love penguins? As you might already know, they place high on my list of favorite animals! I created this painting first by pressing my palette (with magenta, light blue, marine blue, and dark green acrylics) multiple times onto the canvas to reveal a textured surface. After creating these “accidental marks,” I painted the silhouettes of the nine penguins in the foreground. I like the way they turned outโ€”they seem to be in deep conversation! Which is your favorite? I’d love to hear what you think!

22 thoughts on “Painting Penguins

  1. You painted this! It looks beautiful and your penguins look like they all have something to say. As I look at it all I can think about is the movie “Happy Feet”. My favourite in your line up above would be the fourth one from the right. It has good posture and appears self-confident. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for sharing. You’ve definitely inspired me to do some painting on vacation with the kids. Enjoy the rest of your weekend. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you so much, Cherylene! I love the movie “Happy Feet” as well! The penguin you pointed out is my favorite too. It was actually the first one I painted. Hope you have a great weekend and a wonderful vacation with the kids. ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is fab, you’re very talented! I like the one 4th from the right who looks like he’s stretching and puffing himself up to show off his awesomeness. Really great technique you’ve used ๐Ÿ™‚
    Caz x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh! I love this! Such an intriguing visual, and so inventive. I like the whole set as an ensemble, but if I were to select one favorite, I might say the one stretching its wings, #4 counting from the right. Thank you for posting this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

