Pottery Update

Creativity is a wild mind and a disciplined eye.

Dorothy Parker

Back in April, I had the incredible opportunity to try my hand at throwing pottery. I’ve been meaning to give you an update on this for a while now, so here are some photos of how the pieces turned out! I really love the effect of the glaze; it adds quite a bit of shine to the clay. Now that the cups are fired, you can see thin rings around both of them from subtleties in the clayโ€”although they do sort of add a touch of personality, don’t you think? You know, I was thinking they might be cool as mini flower vases. Any suggestions?

22 thoughts on “Pottery Update

  1. Coincidentally, I made this pot recently ,too! It has an oval base, and “rings” stacked on top. There are 5 on top, and I kind of made it into a a rainbow pattern. I made a cover ,too, that’s purple! Your pot looks better though lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These look so professional! I took a clay class my freshman year of high school, and it’s probably one of the few artistic mediums I didn’t like! I like what other people made but was never satisfied with my creations! But that’s alright; you can’t be good at everything!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi! Can you drink from them? – I know it depends on the glaze. They might be nice little cups, like for a gift for a special loved one.

    If you put plants in them, since they don’t have a hole in the bottom for drainage, you might want to consider putting some kind of item in the bottom (under the dirt) that would allow internal drainage. Maybe a small plastic upside-down cup or even a couple of large pebbles or small stones, just so that the plants don’t “drown.” ๐Ÿ™‚ ha ha, that’s the old former greenhouse worker in me speaking. They are SOOOO lovely. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m pretty sure you can drink from them, love the gift idea! Thank you for the wise suggestion – I will make sure to do that for the plants. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks so much, Theresa! I appreciate your taking the time to comment!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

