Sweet Bird

Hello again! My blog’s focus may have shifted around a bunch, but I hope you are still enjoying my ramblings. And I can’t thank you all enough for your support! For now, here is one of my favorite poems—and one of the first ones I’ve written with rhyme scheme.

A bird doesn’t sing because it has an answer, it sings because it has a song.

Maya Angelou

She perches proudly on a branch

And gives her piercing call,

Hopping along with dainty steps

Her presence known to all.

During the day she carries out

The duties to her name,

Quiet and careful, inspiring love

Never quite the same.

And in the night, when all is silent

She monitors the lawn,

Keeping her nest safe and sound

Until the coming dawn.

Leave a Reply

